You are here

News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Thu, 01/31/2019

Please be advised that Administrative Order 2019-1 was signed adopting revised local bankruptcy rules effective February 1, 2019.  These revised rules supercede any local rules effective prior thereto and shall apply to all proceedings in...

Wed, 01/30/2019

The United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan will be open for business on Thursday, January 31, 2019.  All hearings in Grand Rapids and Lansing shall proceed as scheduled.

Tue, 01/29/2019

The American Bankruptcy Institute and The Walter Shapero Symposium Committee are offering an educational session following the inaugural Shapero Cup Moot Court Competition.  The events will take place on Monday, February 18, 2019 starting at 5:00...

Tue, 01/29/2019

The U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan will be closed Wednesday, January 30, 2019, due to inclement weather conditions.  The closing of the court will not affect the court’s electronic filing system, which will remain...

Mon, 01/28/2019

The U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan will be closed Monday, January 28, 2019, due to inclement weather conditions.  The closing of the court will not affect the court’s electronic filing system, which will remain...

Mon, 01/14/2019

This year’s FBA Bankruptcy Conference is scheduled for Friday, July 26 – Sunday, July 28, 2019 at the Crystal Mountain Resort in Thompsonville, Michigan.  More detailed information will follow soon.
...

Wed, 12/26/2018

Although the federal government is currently shutdown, the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan will remain open for all court business activities until further notice.

Tue, 12/18/2018

The U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan is proposing amendments to certain local rules and are requesting that the proposed amendments be circulated to the bar for comment.  The changes have been provisionally approved by...

Mon, 12/17/2018

The United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan will be closing on Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 1:00 p.m., and reopening on Wednesday, December 19, 2018 at 8:00 a.m.   The court has issued...

Mon, 12/03/2018

To honor the memory of former President George Herbert Walker Bush, who passed away on Friday evening, President Donald Trump has declared Wednesday, December 5, 2018, a National Day of Mourning and closed Executive Offices in memory of President...

Pages